a bargain broadhead

I’ll be the first to say, when it comes to equipment, I’m not willing to make sacrifices; I try, at all costs, not to cut corners and get the best stuff I can afford.

However, when I saw the Cabelas Copperhead, I started to rethinking my theory; I did a little reading, and after looking the head over in person, I was very impressed. Heres the stats and description, from Cabelas website:

Cabela’s Copperhead Broadheads

  • 17-4 PH stainless steel
  • Razor-sharp German stainless steel blades
  • 1-1/16″ cutting diameter
  • Bone-crushing Trocar point
  • Individually rotationally tested
Just like its namesake, the Copperhead will strike quietly and fatally from where you’re hiding. The Copperhead is built on a rock-solid 17-4 PH stainless steel ferrule using Monoflow™ technology with a black oxide finish from tip to thread. The blades are the sharpest German blades available. They are .030″ thick, made of 420 stainless steel and covered with a special proprietary coating to keep them sharper for a longer period. The three-blade design has a 1-1/16″ cutting diameter and 100-grain weight. The proven trocar point is molded into the broadhead to provide amazing strength and accuracy, while the blade retention system has been proven under the harshest hunting conditions. When combined, the Copperhead will provide you with bone-crushing strength and surgical sharpness. Each broadhead is rotationally tested to ensure the strictest quality in straightness to yield unmatched accuracy. Cabela’s urges all customers to handle these Copperheads with extreme caution – they might bite back.At $15 dollars less a pack than most other broadheads, I saved almost as much as I spent! I bought a couple packs, and put them on my Easton Axis 340’s; I shot them with perfect flight, at 60, 80 and 100 yards…flight wise, I was thoroughly impressed to say the least.

I shot a mule deer with them, at 55 yards, and can say that the arrow zipped through him before he even knew what hit him. The blood trail was massive, and short, the hole was huge and the damage cause by the broadhead was extensive. Here in a week or so, I hope to be able to run a Cabelas Copperhead through an Oregon elk, as well!

Leave a Reply

